Skip to content

Tarana (1951) Review and Romance

July 13, 2013

TARAANA simply is THE favourite movie since I first watched it in my own teenage, almost 20 yrs back…so much so that when I started an online venture on impulse and needed an impromptu name for it, TARAANA is what, rather who, came to mind and Madhubala became my muse. The innocence of the romance, DIlip Kumar’s commanding presence and Madhubala’s soft style has stayed with me forever.

Raat Akeli Hain

If you don’t know already, I’m a sucker for romance. If a movie’s leading couple has great onscreen chemistry, I’m willing to forget minor plot holes, a lack of philosophy, even angst (because romance and angst go hand in hand, sadly).

So Tarana basically made my week.

Gosh, whenever someone mentions this movie, it’s for the chemistry, the sparks between Dilip Kumar and Madhubala. I think their romance was a lot more controlled, which is not quite the word I’m looking for, but less (physical? no….) ABANDONED than Raj and Nargis’s. Raj and Nargis are my #1 filmi couple at this point, but Dilip-Madhubala gave them a serious run for their money. I had already loved them from Mughal E-Azam, but most of that movie was made after the messy break-up.

Someone mentioned on another blog that Dilip seemed like he was giving only 60% on the scenes in Mughal…

View original post 1,000 more words

No comments yet

What are you thinking?

